The simple possession of a controlled substance in Cedar Rapids and all of Iowa is governed by Iowa Code § 124.401(5). Where that substance is marijuana and it is a first offense, the State of Iowa directs that the penalty for said serious misdemeanor is no less than 48 hours and no more than six months in jail and no more than $1,000 fine plus costs and applicable surcharges. Note that regardless of whether or not there is a connection to driving or whether or not marijuana was seized or not seized inside of a car, someone convicted of possession of a controlled substance will have their privilege to operate a motor vehicle revoked for 180 days.
If you or a loved one has been arrested for a simple misdemeanor, a blog is not an adequate substitute for actual legal advice. No attorney-client relationship is established by reading such a blog nor by sending unsolicited information to an attorney over the Internet. Contact David A. Cmelik Law PLC for an initial consultation today.
All the kids are doin' it, Mom. It may true that marijuana will be legal in our lifetime, or in the lifetime of the next generation, but in Iowa, even simple possession is still fairly illegal. Conviction carries with it direct consequences of minimum 48 jail sentence, but no more than six months on a first offense, and no more than a $1,000 fine. However, it also carries with it a 180 driver's license revocation and may disqualify students from student financial aid. If you or a loved one has been charged with a simple misdemeanor, or other Iowa criminal offense, contact David A. Cmelik Law PLC for an initial consultation today.
Copyright David A. Cmelik Law PLC. All rights reserved.