Criminal Law Toolbox
What is an aggravated misdemeanor?
by David A. Cmelik Law PLC
Aggravated misdemeanors are the highest classification of misdemeanor with which an Iowa criminal defendant may be charged without being indicted for a more serious felony offense.
Even though an aggravated misdemeanor is a still a misdemeanor offense, it is punishable with at most two years in prison. Yes, prison. Jail is also an option-- anything up to and including one year. Fines typically range from $855 to $8,540.
Operating while intoxicated, second offense, is an aggravated misdemeanor. Minimum jail sentence in OWI-2nd is seven (7) days. Minimum fine is $1875. Maximum fines and prison are unchanged. Driving while barred is also an aggravated misdemeanor. Carrying weapons without a valid permit is also an aggravated misdemeanor.
Indictment and discovery are conducted like all indictable offenses, with depositions possible as is the case in serious misdemeanors.
If you or a loved one has been arrested for an aggravated misdemeanor, a blog is not an adequate substitute for actual legal advice. No attorney-client relationship is established by reading such a blog nor by sending unsolicited information to an attorney over the Internet. Contact David A. Cmelik Law PLC for an initial consultation today.
Aggravating indeed an aggravated misdemeanor is the most serious misdmenor with which someone may be charged and not be a felony in Iowa. If you or a loved one have been arrested for a serious misdemeanor, contact David A. Cmelik Law PLC.