What is OWI-1st?
by David A. Cmelik Law PLC
First offense drunk driving in Iowa is a serious misdemeanor criminal charge punishable by at least 48 hours in jail, no more than a year in jail, and fines ranging from $1,250 to $1,875 in Iowa. Upon conviction, a Iowa driver’s license revocation will typically be revoked for 180 days if not otherwise administratively revoked because of a breath, blood, or urine test failure or for one year for refusal upon reasonable grounds to believe the test subject was intoxicated.
Options exist to avoid a jail sentence, if approved by the court, and an Iowa-licensed attorney should be retained to review any and all written and electronic discovery/evidence to determine strengths and defects of the prosecution.
If you or a loved one has been arrested for OWI (DUI) criminal offense in Cedar Rapids, Iowa City, Waterloo, or other Iowa community, contact David A. Cmelik Law PLC, for an initial consultation today. However, remember that a blog is not legal advice and that no attorney-client relationship is established by sending unsolicited information to an attorney over the Internet.
First Offense In a first-offense OWI (DUI) in Cedar Rapids, Iowa City, Waterloo, hire an experienced Iowa-licensed attorney limited exclusively to the practice of criminal law to represent you in a first time drunk driving prosecution. And chart your way back to life before legal crisis. Contact David A. Cmelik Law PLC at 319-389-1889.