What is OWI-2nd?
by David A. Cmelik Law PLC
Second offense drunk driving in Iowa is an aggravated misdemeanor criminal offense punishable by at least 7 days in jail, no more than two years in prison, and fines ranging from $1,875 to $6,250. Upon conviction, an Iowa driver’s license will be revoked for one year if not otherwise administratively revoked because of a breath, blood, or urine test failure and two years for a test refusal. The Iowa DOT will notify the issuing state for out of state licensees.
An Iowa-licensed attorney should be retained to review any and all written and electronic discovery/evidence to determine strengths and defects of the prosecution in such an Iowa OWI (DUI) criminal case.
If you or a loved one has been arrested for OWI in Cedar Rapids, Iowa City, Waterloo, or other Iowa community, contact David A. Cmelik Law PLC, for an initial consultation today. However, remember that a blog is not legal advice and that no attorney-client relationship is established by sending unsolicited information to an attorney over the Internet.
Second Offense If an OWI (DUI) defendant has a criminal conviction for OWI in Iowa or the equivalent in another State within the last 12 years, the OWI can be upgraded to an OWI-2nd offense in Cedar Rapids, Iowa City, Waterloo, or other Iowa community. Hire an experienced Iowa-licensed attorney limited exclusively to the practice of criminal law to represent you in a second offense drunk driving prosecution. And chart your way back to life before legal crisis. Contact David A. Cmelik Law PLC at 319-389-1889.